Sunday, September 8, 2013

Lights Concert (May 8, 2013)

I know it was a while ago, but it really was one of the best nights I ever had.

So we started our day at about 7am, but my stepdad had been up since midnight driving to be able to get home in time, since he’s a truck driver. We left at around 9am, went to La Crosse to pick up Laura. That was our first time meeting her, since she’s one of my friend’s college friends, and I heard she hadn’t ever seen Lights but knew of my blog and really wanted to see her, so I extended an invitation to have her tag along with us. After all, giving a fellow Lights fan the opportunity to see Lights for the first time is pretty special.

We got to the venue at about 2? There was a lot of driving around trying to actually get there. We were the second group to get there, but we all knew we’d get front row, thankfully.

A few more people started to show up, then Dionne (a friend I met on the internet) showed up and I went to her and gave her a hug and told her to come into line with us. She was awesome, basically. So we just spent our time waiting by all of us talking (my friend Heidi, Dionne, my stepdad [Matt], and I [and Laura at times]).

Matt was standing out closer to the street, so he saw when Lights opened the front door and peeked out to see how many people were there. I thought at first he was just pranking me, since he had done it previously :p She said that she had soundcheck in five minutes but wanted to say hi, so I was definitely grateful that she took the time to talk to us on such a tight schedule.

I had Matt go and run back to the car to grab the wine, so as he did that, I gave her the cheese curds, which she was definitely happy about. So I stepped away to give the others time to talk to her, since I had a ton of things to give her. After she talked to everyone, she got a picture with Matt (she remembered him from April '12 and skipped the line to hug him) and was just super sweet. He’s still fangirling, but you didn’t hear that from me~

After that, I gave her the wine and a pile of letters, and she was definitely grateful for both of those. I told her: “I don’t know if this is a good or bad thing to say, but I’m (I mentioned my url) on tumblr,” and she said, “Yeah I knew it was you! I lurk tumblr and see you posting in the tag.” That was the gist of it that I remember. AND she said I was a good blogger, which was awesome. We talked about her hair, fanbase drama, and tumblr, pretty much.

Basically, she was a huge sweetheart.

Once the show started, we all went and got our seats (front row, baby). Then decided to go get merch while Matt saved our seats for us. I got the poster and a t-shirt.

It felt like forever once we got back to wait for the opener. Before the opener started, my friend Heidi and Dionne left to go get something to eat (mostly because they didn’t want to sit through the opener), so they missed the set until the last two songs. The opener was pretty… bad. Same strum patterns, same tones, just a very boring and underwhelming opener.

Once lights came on stage, the feeling in the room changed to upbeat and excited, it was weird how I could feel it shift instantly. She was incredible and she interacted with the crowd a lot (and gave me a cheese curd shoutout :p). It just felt so intimate and personal, just incredible.













0 comments:

Post a Comment