Sunday, September 8, 2013

Lights Concert (May 8, 2013)

I know it was a while ago, but it really was one of the best nights I ever had.

So we started our day at about 7am, but my stepdad had been up since midnight driving to be able to get home in time, since he’s a truck driver. We left at around 9am, went to La Crosse to pick up Laura. That was our first time meeting her, since she’s one of my friend’s college friends, and I heard she hadn’t ever seen Lights but knew of my blog and really wanted to see her, so I extended an invitation to have her tag along with us. After all, giving a fellow Lights fan the opportunity to see Lights for the first time is pretty special.

We got to the venue at about 2? There was a lot of driving around trying to actually get there. We were the second group to get there, but we all knew we’d get front row, thankfully.

A few more people started to show up, then Dionne (a friend I met on the internet) showed up and I went to her and gave her a hug and told her to come into line with us. She was awesome, basically. So we just spent our time waiting by all of us talking (my friend Heidi, Dionne, my stepdad [Matt], and I [and Laura at times]).

Matt was standing out closer to the street, so he saw when Lights opened the front door and peeked out to see how many people were there. I thought at first he was just pranking me, since he had done it previously :p She said that she had soundcheck in five minutes but wanted to say hi, so I was definitely grateful that she took the time to talk to us on such a tight schedule.

I had Matt go and run back to the car to grab the wine, so as he did that, I gave her the cheese curds, which she was definitely happy about. So I stepped away to give the others time to talk to her, since I had a ton of things to give her. After she talked to everyone, she got a picture with Matt (she remembered him from April '12 and skipped the line to hug him) and was just super sweet. He’s still fangirling, but you didn’t hear that from me~

After that, I gave her the wine and a pile of letters, and she was definitely grateful for both of those. I told her: “I don’t know if this is a good or bad thing to say, but I’m (I mentioned my url) on tumblr,” and she said, “Yeah I knew it was you! I lurk tumblr and see you posting in the tag.” That was the gist of it that I remember. AND she said I was a good blogger, which was awesome. We talked about her hair, fanbase drama, and tumblr, pretty much.

Basically, she was a huge sweetheart.

Once the show started, we all went and got our seats (front row, baby). Then decided to go get merch while Matt saved our seats for us. I got the poster and a t-shirt.

It felt like forever once we got back to wait for the opener. Before the opener started, my friend Heidi and Dionne left to go get something to eat (mostly because they didn’t want to sit through the opener), so they missed the set until the last two songs. The opener was pretty… bad. Same strum patterns, same tones, just a very boring and underwhelming opener.

Once lights came on stage, the feeling in the room changed to upbeat and excited, it was weird how I could feel it shift instantly. She was incredible and she interacted with the crowd a lot (and gave me a cheese curd shoutout :p). It just felt so intimate and personal, just incredible.













Feminism vs. Sexism

One thing that I have been thinking about lately is how some females confuse being feminist to being sexist. I get that women aren't equal in any means with males, but some of them take it too far. For instance, the girls who think all guys are scum and/or are lesser than women. You're trying to defeat sexism, so why would you impose that way of thinking on the opposite sex? It makes no sense to me at all.

Also, a lot of them take it way too far. I saw a post on Tumblr about how a girl was claiming how sexist and anti-feminist it was that she got sent to the office for having a muscle tee that showed half of her bra. The thing is, school prepares you for the real world, and jobs have dress codes whether you like it or not, so of course they're going to enforce their rules. Some of them just seem to think that any form of "imagined repression" means a guy has it out to get them. It just gives feminism a bad name.

As much as I want to be equal with men, I also realize that taking it too far won't help anyone and will just make the movement a joke.

Friday, September 6, 2013

So, as many people know, I've been on vacation to Georgia for about a week. Instead of spamming with pictures with all I've done, well, I'll just start from what we did today.

Tybee Island (where we're staying) is about 25-30 minutes from the Savannah coast, and that's where we decided to go today. First, we did some shopping along the coast, and really, there was some pretty awesome shops along there. There was an art shop with art from local artists, but of course, that wasn't anything I could afford. We ate at Spanky's and it was fucking amazing. The service and food was A+. One of the highlights of the shopping was hitting up another art gallery that happened to have prints of works, so it was reasonably priced, and I ended up getting two prints from an artist named "Hidden Moves," and if you're interested, definitely check out their work here

And of course, here are the pieces I bought for around $16.








My stepdad also bought his own piece (the first souvenir he's bought so far). If you like the artwork, you can check out the artist "Lora Zombie" here



After finishing up our shopping, we decided to take a horse drawn carriage tour and that was pretty incredible. It was a lot better than I expected, since we ended up having our own private tour. We toured around historic Savannah and heard a lot of history about it, which was more interesting than I originally thought it'd be. The historic side of Savannah really is a dramatic contrast from the rest of it, and it's really beautiful. Here are some pictures from the day:






















And I'm sure many people my age remember a show called "Dragon Tales," and his artwork was displayed at a local art shop! I was so excited, until I saw the $60 price tag.






Tomorrow, we're going to head to Lynchburg, Tennessee to go to the Jack Daniels brewery and see how far we can drive home until we have to stop to rest. More than likely, I'll be home on Sunday. Not looking forward to the end of the vacation.